Staffordshire Moorlands MCC

Bluestones Cup Charity Trial

A very successful Bluestones Cup Trial raised nearly £3000 for local charities.

One hundred and twenty five trials riders and sponsors helped to raise nearly £3000 for the Blackshaw Moor First School and the Special Care Baby Unit at the Royal Stoke Hospital.

The event was held on land at Blackshaw Moor Farm, kindly donated for the event by landowner Stuart Day, the competitors completing 3 laps of 15 sections at this iconic venue.

The sun was shining, but the ground was very wet, resulting in some of the course becoming very slippery as the event progressed making it quite challenging for some of the novice competitors.

The winner of the Bluestones Cup was 16 year old Sam Yeomans who, despite a disaster on section 7, lost only 16 marks throughout the event.

 Sam was followed home in the Expert Class by Corey Dublik, Billy Craig and Mark Atkinson.

Corey, Billy and Mark all performed better than Sam on section 7 but on the other difficult sections Sam showed his undoubted talent by losing only 6 marks.

The largest class was the 50/50’s, 54 competitors contested this class and a couple of the sections proved very difficult. The rocky outcrops of section 6 was a big mark stealer where winner Pete Ruscoe lost 12 of his 18 marks, this compared with Greg Moor who lost 3 and Phil Hulme who lost 5. However Pete hung onto his advantage ove the rest of the course to steal a victory by 2 marks from Greg.

The Clubmans class was also very well supported with 50 riders competing.

First place was taken by Chris Gascoigne riding his 1970’s Bultaco ahead of Craig Haworth and Mike Finch on modern bikes.



Bluestones Cup Sam Yeomans Gas Gas  16 marks lost

   Corey Dublik  Beta   21

   Billy Craig  Honda   24

   Mark Atkinson Gas Gas  37

   Jonny Stewart Gas Gas  44

   Eddy Dain  Gas Gas  53

   Ian Robinson  Gas Gas  53


   Pete Ruscoe  Gas Gas  18

   Greg Moor  Beta   20

   Phil Hulme  Gas Gas  25

   Chris Brightmore Gas Gas  33

   Rob Bowyer  Triumph  33

   Adrain Mellor Gas Gas  36


   Chris Gascoigne Bultaco  27

   Graig Haworth Beta   32

   Mike Finch  Gas Gas  36

   Andy Hipwell  BSA   39

   Martyn Nelson Yamaha  46

   John Drillon  Beta   47

   Niki Humphreys Beta   47